Talk About Network

Google


Register and Login
Nick
Password
Register create new account Sign up is FREE and you can post replies, new topics, bookmark posts and more!
Recover lost password


Shareware > Freeware General > Re: [OT] Warnin...
Latest [ Topics | Posts ] Archive Post A New Topic Post a Reply
<< Topic < Post Post 4 of 6 Topic 710 of 56204
Post > Topic >>

Re: [OT] Warning: MVP.org is not a Microsoft MVP site

by "Steven Burn" <services@[EMAIL PROTECTED] > Jan 11, 2004 at 08:05 PM

Below is quoted from: microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion

[quote]
From Malware Maven & MVP Mike Burgess, to whom I'd forwarded Steve Burn's
first post in this thread:

<paste>
You can safely view the hijack here:
http://www.samspade.org/t/safe?u=http%3A%2F%2Fhitq.com%2Fnav.html%3FAgentCod
e%3Denamecorp

This installs the following:
http://nav.HitQ.com/hitQX.cab
(hitQX.ocx)
http://nav.goi.com/goixX.cab
(goixX.ocx)
http://nav.hitq.com/HitQ.exe
http://nav.hitq.com/HitQUninstall.exe
http://nav.hitq.com/HitQnavi.dll
Note: these files are "Packed: UPX"
I unpacked them and the only mentioned URLs are "hitq.com"

http://go.hitq.com/search.php?word=%s&AgentCode=%s
refreshes to:
http://big****tal.com/
loads:
http://nav.goi.com/goixX.cab

Note: all the above URLs are owned by the same person:
KIM HYUNGHO
</paste>
--
~PA Bear
[/quote]

--
Regards

Steven Burn
Ur I.T. Mate Group
www.it-mate.co.uk

Keeping it FREE!

Disclaimer:
I know I'm probably wrong, I just like taking part ;o)


YoKenny <YKnot@[EMAIL PROTECTED]
> wrote in message
news:dU_Lb.70450$AJB.32854@[EMAIL PROTECTED]
> Steven Burn wrote:
> > [quoted from: microsoft.public.win98.gen_discussion]
> >
> > The Microsoft MVPs have a web domain, mvps.org, which contains what
> > we hope are a lot of useful articles aimed at being of help to users
> > of Windows.
> >
> > We have become aware that there is another domain,  mvp.org without
> > the s,  and would advise you all that this has no connection with the
> > Microsoft MVP program or its members, and may put visitors at risk
> > of "drive-by" installs of malware.
> >
> > Robear Dyer (PA Bear)
> > Alex Nichol
> > Doug Knox
> > Kelly Theriot
> > Ken Blake
> >
> > Microsoft MVP program
> > http://mvp.sup****t.microsoft.com
> >
> > [/quote]
>
> Looks like another CWS mutation.  Uses IFRAME to redirect to
> xyz.getfound.com where xyz is www to prevent click-through
>
> HOSTS file material.
>
 




 6 Posts in Topic:
[OT] Warning: MVP.org is not a Microsoft MVP site
"Steven Burn" &  2004-01-10 20:28:32 
Re: [OT] Warning: MVP.org is not a Microsoft MVP site
"YoKenny" <Y  2004-01-10 22:19:53 
Re: [OT] Warning: MVP.org is not a Microsoft MVP site
Vegard Krog Petersen <  2004-01-11 00:35:49 
Re: [OT] Warning: MVP.org is not a Microsoft MVP site
"Steven Burn" &  2004-01-11 20:05:23 
Re: [OT] Warning: MVP.org is not a Microsoft MVP site
"YoKenny" <Y  2004-01-12 14:34:45 
Re: [OT] Warning: MVP.org is not a Microsoft MVP site
"Steven Burn" &  2004-01-12 14:40:03 

Post A Reply:
  Go here to Signup

AddThis Feed Button


About - Advertising - Contact - Frequently Asked Questions - Privacy Policy - Terms of Use - Signup

Contact
tan12V112 Wed Aug 20 9:38:59 CDT 2008.